Information Literacy:  Beyond Google & Wikipedia

Science Subscription Databases:

Database
Name

World Book    
EBSCO Science    Reference Center    
 SAS Curriculum Pathways 
 Discovery Education
 Britannica ImageQuest
Database
Logo

 
World Book
EBSCO Science Reference Center
 
SAS Curriculum Pathways
 
Discovery Education
 
Britannica ImageQuest
Direct URL
http://www.worldbookonline.com/wb/Login?ed=wb http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=scirc http://www.sascurriculumpathways.com/portal/#/
https://powayusd.discoveryeducation.com http://quest.eb.com/
Logins


School username & password
School username & password You will  be prompted to create your own account.
Login: novell username
Password: novell password
Students have individual accounts.
Username=poway
Password=preview
Good until 10/25
Content Encyclopedia articles with authors. Primary sources.
Magazines, journals, reference books, experiments.  CCCS linked.
Interactive tools, audio tutorials, web lessons.  More MS focus.
Videos, images with citations. Includes CC and transcripts. Plan ahead and download the day before.
Images with citations. PHS subscribes.
 Misc.   Included in EBSCO supersearch
   Saving a Video
 


Your Teacher Librarians:  They want to help with your personal or class research!  Call or email.  Remember they can find you any article for FREE!
 
Sue Sheldon
 
Jane Chambers
 
Heidi Uyloan
Sue Sheldon
BHMS
8811-4021
MVMS
8831-3127
susheldon@powayusd.com
Jane Chambers
BMMS
8810-3940
OVMS
8837-6106
jchambers@powayusd.com

Heidi Uyloan
MMS
8820-2245
TPMS
8830-2825
huyloan@powayusd.com

 
Joe Ruggieri
 
MCHS teacher librarian, Mia Hunter
 
Katherine Powell
 
Stephanie Hubner
 
Cheri Tomboc-Brownlie
Joe Ruggieri
DNHS
8803-2158
joruggieri@powayusd.com
Mia Hunter
MCHS
8806-3551
mhunter@powayusd.com
Katherine Powell
PHS
8805-5461
kpowell@powayusd.com
Stephanie Hubner/Benn VonWistinghausen 
RBHS
8807-4820
shubner@powayusd.com
bvonwistinghausen@powayusd.com

Cheri Tomboc-Brownlie
WHS
8809-3067

ctomboc@powayusd.com



Evaluating Internet Sources:
CARS (DNHS, PHS grades 9-11) http://www.virtualsalt.com/evalu8it.htm
Research Ready (OVMS, BMMS) http://webeval.researchready.com/
Dr. Bell's List of Hoax Sites for Teaching Web Evaluation: http://www.shsu.edu/lis_mah/documents/TCEA/hoaxtable.html


Information Literacy/ CCCS & NGSS Crosswalk

References:

AASL. 2014. AASL learning standards & Common Core State Standards crosswalk. Retrieved 2 Aug 2014 http://goo.gl/VpPMEC

NGGS. 2013. Appendix M - Connections to the Common Core State Standards for literacy in science and technical subjects. Retrieved 4 Aug 2014 http://goo.gl/aB6VOd

Head, Alison J. 2013. How freshmen conduct research once they enter college. Project Information Literacy Research Report. [PDF]        Retrieved 8 Aug 2014 http://goo.gl/CiVJb7

Staff Development Cartoon

Webpage graphics sources:  Google & Wikipedia from Wikimedia Commons; Cartoon from someecards.com