Databases

Subscription Databases require the PHS username and password.  This can be found on the back of your ID card,  on MyConnect Library site and by visiting the library.   New in 2013, a guide to Databases by Subject.  Symabaloo links to each specific database. Also available a brief description for all databases.


 

ABC-CLIO:
7 databases: American Government, American History, Daily Life Through History, Issues, World at War, World Geography,  and World History: The Modern Era. Reference material including primary source documents, maps, charts, images, articles, timelines. MLA citations.

FAQs

American Govt. Guide, Amer. History Guide, Daily Life Guide, Issues Guide, Pop Culture Guide, World at War GuideWorld Geography  Guide, World History, World Religions.

 
 Career Crusing:
Includes assessments (to figure out what you like to do and have a talent for), careers, education/training and employment information.  Multimedia available including videos, photos and podcasts. Students can create individual accounts to store assessments, career and college information.
 User's Guide

Summary of Features (1 p.)

Setting up a personal account

 
CQ Researcher:
Authoritative thorough articles on controversial issues. Include references, timeline, pros/cons, graphs and MLA citation.
 
FAQs
 
EBSCO:
10 databases including literary, biography science, history, controversial issues, education/teacher databases.  New this year Novelist, helps you find the perfect next book to read.
Introductory
Tutorial


Help Pages
 
FactCite:
3 K-12 databases:  American History, Biography for Beginners, and Mythology.  Easy to read, includes photos, charts and citation information.
 FAQ

 
Gale:
7 databases including controversial issues, literary, student reference center, virtual reference library.  New this year Biography Resource Center.
PowerSearch Tips

Help Pages
 
Noodletools:
Bibliography and works cited generator. Electronic note cards.  Stores research work for all years at PHS.
 

User Guide

 

ProQuest:

Includes two history resources: History Study Center and Sirs Decades.  Sirs Issues Researcher specializes in pros/cons, but provides primary sources, maps, charts and graphs as well.

SIRS Issues Researcher Quick Start Guide

 
Salem Health:
Two searchable reference book sets now available online; Magill's Medical Guide, Psychology and Mental Health, Addictions and Substance AbuseMLA citations.

 
FAQs
 
Salem History:
Searchable reference books including;  Decades (20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s), Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Milestone Documents of American History, Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society, Weapons & Warfare.  MLA citations.

FAQs
 
 SAS Curriculum Pathways:
Student username is our mascot (plural).  This resource includes Writing Reviser and many interactive Social Science tools.  Also included are resources for Math, Science and Spanish.  Student username is our mascot.
User's Guide
 
Teen Health & Wellness
 Teen Health & Wellness:
Award-winning, critically acclaimed  resource—provides students with nonjudgmental, straightforward information
and support on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, green living, financial literacy, and more.

 User's Guide
 
World Book: 
K-12 Districtwide  resource. Authoritative starting point for research.  Spanish language encyclopedia also available. Primary source documents.  MLA citations.
 
Help

Tutorial

 
Discovery Education:
Videos, images, clipart and sound effects for educational use. MLA Citations. Login with your novell username and password.
User's Guide

Let us know what you think, take our DATABASE SURVEY.